Get Involved

If you are a Lambeth resident and/or a user of Brixton Rec and are concerned about the proposals to demolish/replace the Rec, you can have your say by contacting your local Lambeth councillors. You may want to look at our Why Save the Rec? page to consider the arguments for and against.

On 17 December 2012 there is a Lambeth Cabinet meeting. Councillor Lib Peck is the Cabinet member for Regeneration and is the critical person to contact, along with the local councillors for your ward. If you don’t know who your local councillors are, you can find out here:

Act now. Do not wait for the formal consultation which is scheduled for 7 January – 18 February 2013.

Cabinet Member Councillors

Leader of the Council – Steve Reed

Deputy Leader of the Council – Jackie Meldrum

Regeneration and Strategic Housing – Lib Peck

Children and Families – Rachel Heywood

Culture, Leisure and the Olympics – Sally Prentice

Finance and Resources – Paul McGlone

Health and Wellbeing – Jim Dickson

Neighbourhood Services – Pete Robbins

Public Protection – Jack Hopkins

Labour Councillors by Ward

Brixton Hill: Alexander Holland, Florence Nosegbe, Steve Reed

Clapham Town: Nigel Haselden, Helen O’Malley, Christopher Wellbelove

Coldharbour Ward (includes Brixton Town Centre): Donatus Anyanwu , Rachel Heywood, Matt Parr

Ferndale Ward: Paul McGlone, Sally Prentice, Neil Sabharwal

Gipsy Hill: Matthew Bennett, Jennifer Brathwaite, Niranjan Francis

Herne Hill: Carol Boucher, Jim Dickson, Leanne Targett-Parker

Knight’s Hill: Jackie Meldrum, Jane Pickard, Mike Smith

Larkhall: Dr Neeraj Patil, Pete Robbins, Christiana Valcarcel

Oval: Jane Edbrooke, Jack Hopkins

Princes Ward: Lorna Campbell, Mark Harrison, Stephen Morgan

Stockwell: Alex Bigham , Peter Bowyer, Imogen Walker

Streatham South: Mark Bennett, John Kazantzis, David Malley

Thornton: Edward Davie, Diana Morris, Lib Peck.

Thurlow Park: Ann Kingsbury

Tulse Hill: Adedamola Aminu, Marcia Cameron, Ruth Ling

Vassal Ward: Kingsley Abrams, Adrian Garden

Email addresses for all councillors are (e.g. except Mike Smith:

Alternatively you can write to them:

Lambeth Town Hall
Brixton Hill

For more information about the Brixton Rec User Group (BRUG) please visit the Facebook page, the BRUG website or email


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s